SyCipLaw Lawyers Awarded 2014 Asian Company Secretary of the Year

SyCip Salazar Hernandez & Gatmaitan (SyCipLaw) congratulates Emmanuel C. Paras and Simeon Ken R. Ferrer for receiving Corporate Governance Asia’s 2014 Asian Company Secretary of the Year award in recognition of their roles as corporate secretaries of SM Investments Corporation and Meralco, respectively.

The award highlights the pivotal role of company secretaries in any business in any part of the world. During the awarding ceremony last December in Hong Kong, a total of 40 outstanding corporate secretaries were recognized from the Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong and Indonesia. Other Philippine awardees include Jasmine Oporto of Aboitiz Group, Solomon Hermosura of Ayala Corporation and Manila Water, Edmund L. Tan of BDO Unibank, Inc., Corazon I. Morando of Chinabank, Antonio Picazo of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation, Maria Lourdes C. Rausa-Chan of PLDT, Ma. Celia H. Fernandez-Estavillo of RCBC, and Joel Raymond R. Ayson of Security Bank.